Where are we?

The West Coast (Maori: Te Tai Poutini) is a region of New Zealand on the west coast of the South Island, one of the more remote and most sparsely populated areas of the country. It is administered by the West Coast Regional Council.

At the territorial authority level, the region comprises Buller District, Grey District and Westland District. The principal towns are Westport, Greymouth and Hokitika respectively. The region's area is 23,276 km2

The West Coast is sparsely populated, especially in the south, with the 2006 census recording 31,326 inhabitants, up from 30,303 in 2001, lower than the 1996 figure. The June 2015 estimated population is 32,700.

West Coast Disability Resource Service was started in 2004 to cater to the West Coast local community.

With such a plethora of information out there, there needs to be a central hub for all the information, where one could go to find out anything. We are actively working with community groups and national organisations to ensure that we have a comprehensive and relevant information hub for both Coasters and visitors to the region.

If you have any thoughts on what could perhaps be included, please use the CONTACT button or leave a comment on our Facebook page.